School of Education Dean's Office

UW-Madison School of Education
377 Education Building 
1000 Bascom Mall
Madison, WI 53706

Diana Hess, Dean and the Karen A. Falk Distinguished Chair of Education
377h Education Building, (608) 262-6137
dhess@wisc.edu
About the Dean

LaVar Charleston, Associate Dean for Diversity & Inclusion

377f Education Building, (608) ​265-3230
​lavar.charleston@wisc.edu
Duties: Program support (related to fostering diverse and inclusive communities), development and implementation of initiatives to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion, review of existing diversity-related policies

John Hitchcock, Associate Dean for the Arts

377c Education Building, (608) 772-7955
jhitchcock@wisc.edu
Duties: Program support (strategic planning, support for development of new programs, certificates, and non-pooled programs) for arts cluster departments (Art, Dance, Theatre and Drama)

Bill Hoyt, Associate Dean for Health 
377f Education Building, (608) 262-0462
wthoyt@wisc.edu
Duties: Program support (strategic planning, support for development of new programs, certificates, and non-pooled programs) for health cluster departments (Counseling Psych, Kinesiology, RPSE), graduate student funding

Elizabeth Jach, Policy and Planning Analyst

377d Education Building, (608) 262-3389
ejach@wisc.edu
Duties: Program support (research, data analysis and reports, support for programs and policies), School of Education representative in campus wide meetings and committee member

Carolyn Kelley, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs
377k Education Building, (608) 263-5733
carolyn.kelley@wisc.edu
Duties: Program quality and accountability (e.g., program reviews, processes and rules for approval of new courses, programs and certificates); Senior Staff meeting agendas, strategic planning and support for health cluster departments; summer session

Julie Mead, Associate Dean for Education
377e Education Building, (608) 263-3405
jmead@education.wisc.edu
Duties: Program support (strategic planning, support for development of new programs, certificates, and non-pooled programs) for education cluster departments (C&I, ELPA, EPS, Ed Psych)

Francesca Rodriquez, ​Strategic Program Coordinator

107 Education Building, (608) 262-​7959
frodriquez@wisc.edu
Duties: Research and coordination of initiatives and start-up programs from the dean

Office Support Staff


Shelby Bowe, Dean's Assistant
377j Education Building, (608) 262-6137
sbowe2@wisc.edu

Marcia Standiford, ​Program Associate

377 Education Building, (608) 262-1763
mstandiford@wisc.edu

Maddie Sychta, Program Associate
377j Education Building, (608) 262-4507
sychta@wisc.edu