Research News

Mathieu receives WARF Named Professorship, Jones earns Romnes Faculty Fellowship

March 21, 2018

Thirty-three faculty members from across the UW-Madison campus are receiving 2018 faculty fellowships, including the School of Education's Robert Mathieu and Tom Jones.

Robert Mathieu
Mathieu, who directs the Wisconsin Center for Education Research (WCER) within the School of Education, is receiving a WARF Named Professorship, an award that comes with $100,000 to honor faculty members who have made major contributions to the advancement of knowledge.

Mathieu also is the Albert E. Whitford Professor with the Department of Astronomy, where he studies the kinematics and dynamics of star clusters and star-forming regions, stellar binary populations, blue stragglers and other objects with alternative stellar evolution pathways, formation of binary stars and stellar angular momentum evolution. With his students, Mathieu discovered the youngest binary stars, described the flow of matter from protoplanetary disks onto these stars, measured the masses of brown dwarf stars, studied the dynamical interactions between binary stars that power the evolution of star clusters and, most recently, defined new evolutionary pathways of stars in binaries as they exchange mass or collide during these interactions.

Mathieu has received a Presidential Young Investigator award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an AAAS Fellow and Distinguished Teaching Award. He is the founding director of the national Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning, whose mission is to prepare future faculty to be excellent teachers.

Tom Jones
Jones, a professor of photography with the School of Education’s Art Department, is receiving a Romnes Faculty Fellowship.

Jones studies American Indian identity, experience and perception. The Romnes award comes with $60,000 that may be spent over five years.

The awards are made possible by research efforts of UW–Madison faculty and staff. Technology arising from these research efforts is licensed by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF). Income from successful licenses is returned to the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education to fund research activities throughout the divisions on campus, including these awards.

Fourteen faculty have received H.I. Romnes Faculty Fellowships recognizing faculty up to six years past their first promotion to a tenured position. The award is named in recognition of the late Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation Trustee President H. I. Romnes.

Eleven faculty have been honored with Kellett Mid-Career Awards to support faculty who are seven to 20 years past their first promotion to a tenured position. The award was created to provide needed support and encouragement to faculty at a critical stage of their careers and comes with $75,000 that may be spent over five years. The award is named for William R. Kellett, a former president of the WARF board of trustees and retired president of Kimberly-Clark Corp.

Eight faculty are appointed to WARF Named Professorships that honor faculty who have made major contributions to the advancement of knowledge, primarily through their research endeavors, but also as a result of their teaching and service activities. Award recipients chose the names associated with their professorships.

To learn more about all of this year’s fellowship winners, ​read this University Communications news report.