UW–Madison alum González receives Principal Leadership Award

UW–Madison alumnus Mike González received a 2022 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Principal Leadership Award.

Photo of Mike González

González, who earned his master’s degree from the School of Education’s Department of Educational Policy Studies in 2006, is principal of Bessie Allen Middle School in the School District of North Fond du Lac, Wisconsin.

The purpose of the Herb Kohl Principal Leadership program is to recognize and support administrative leadership. Award recipients are school principals who are being recognized for setting high standards for instruction, achievement, and character, and creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff, and community.

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation’s goal is to support Wisconsin school principals in pursuit of their unrealized goals for their schools or professional development. Thirteen public school principals and four private school principals/administrators were selected for a Leadership Award in 2022. The 17 Kohl Leadership Award recipients and their schools will each receive $6,000 grants from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation.

“I am truly humbled and honored to have been selected for the Herb Kohl Principal Leadership Award, being included among such terrific, top-notch professionals across the state of Wisconsin,” said González. “I would like to thank the students, staff, and families at Bessie Allen Middle School (BAMS) for our fruitful and rewarding partnership throughout the last six years. This award would not be possible without ALL of you at BAMS. Thank you all for exhibiting a steadfast dedication to make Bessie Allen Middle School a great place for students, staff, and our community.”

The Kohl Foundation award program was established by philanthropist and businessman Herb Kohl. Since 1990, the foundation has awarded more than $28.3 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

Learn more about the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Principal Leadership Award.

Pin It on Pinterest