UW–Madison’s Greer, White named as student reps to AERA Division G Graduate Student Executive Committee

UW–Madison doctoral candidates CJ Greer and Mark White were recently named to the American Educational Research Association’s (AERA) Division G Graduate Student Executive Committee as student representatives.

AERA’s Division G represents the scholarly area of social context of education.

Portraits of CJ Greer and Mark white
Greer (left) and White

Both Greer and White are fourth-year PhD student with the School of Education’s Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis (ELPA).

Greer is focusing his work looking at how young people thrive in community-based education spaces and how these spaces can be leveraged for reimagining PreK-12 schooling.

“Being named as a representative provides an exciting opportunity to support my peers and future colleagues on their journeys on a national scale,” says Greer. “It really highlights my favorite thing about pursing my PhD in ELPA, which is serving others I am in community with.”

White’s scholarship revolves around analyzing the implications of school choice on school districts, particularly analyzing how regional and national political dynamics — along with various school choice options such as vouchers, charter schools, private institutions, and magnet programs —influence the opportunities available to children and families from historically excluded communities.

“Serving as a representative allows me to serve and support my community,” says White. “Also, it offers the platform to demystify the scholarly ‘process’ and help make knowledge about academia and academic conferences more accessible.”

Division G Graduate Student Executive Committee representatives are tasked with: planning and executing diverse programming for Division G graduate/undergraduate students throughout the academic year; attending and supporting Division G programming at AERA’s Annual Meeting; co-leading one of the subcommittees; and serving as campus liaison at your home institution

Serving on the committee is a two-year commitment.

Pin It on Pinterest