Division of the Arts announces 2022 Creative Arts Award recipients

Each spring, the UW–Madison Division of the Arts celebrates artistic achievement, recognizes service to the arts, and supports arts research by bestowing the Creative Arts Awards.

Congratulations to the following individuals with ties to the UW–Madison School of Education who are among the recipients of this year’s Creative Arts Awards.

Faculty Arts Research

Headshots of Emily Arthur and Baron Kelly
Arthur (left) and Kelly

Emily Mead Baldwin Award in the Creative Arts
Emily Arthur, associate professor of art
Project title: “Birds as a Baseline: 100 Years of Our Changing Landscape”

Staff and Faculty Arts Outreach

Joyce J. and Gerald A. Bartell Award in the Arts
Baron Kelly, professor of theatre and drama
Project title: “Fences”

Edna Wiechers Arts in Wisconsin Award
Baron Kelly, professor of theatre and drama
Project title: “Fences”

Graduate Student Creative Arts Awards

Praveen Maripelly, MFA candidate, art
Project title: “Prayog: An Interdisciplinary Place”

Top row, from left: Maripelly, Mattaini, Norman; Bottom row: Saplan, Milton, Wycherly

Molly Mattaini, PhD candidate, interdisciplinary theatre studies (in the College of Letters and Science)
Katherine Norman, PhD candidate, educational psychology
Kailea Saplan, PhD candidate, curriculum and instruction
Project title: “Teaching Artists and Antiracism in Out-of-School Time Theatre Programs”

Lianne Milton, MFA candidate, art
Project title: “Matrilline”

Derick Wycherly, MFA candidate, art
Project title: MFA exhibition

“The Creative Ars Awards are integral to recognizing and supporting the research excellence generated by UW–Madison artists,” says Christopher Walker, director of the Division of the Arts. “Each of the honorees expands artistic knowledge within their specific discipline and advances the Wisconsin Idea.”

Walker encourages staff, faculty, students and community members to attend the award ceremony on May 10, and thanks the donors who make the awards possible as well as members of the 2022 Creative Arts Awards Selection Committee, including Peggy Choy (Dance), Laurie Beth Clark (Art), Wei Dong (Design Studies), Florence Hsia (History), Dan Lisowski (Theatre and Drama), and Scott Teeple (Music).

Donors that support the awards include the Anonymous Fund, the Joyce J. and Gerald A. Bartell family, Suzanne and Roberto Freund, the Bassett and Evjue Foundations, the Edna Wiechers Arts in Wisconsin Fund, and Emily Nissley.

Learn more about all of the 2022 award recipients, and their projects, on the Division of the Arts’ website.

Pin It on Pinterest