Walker’s ‘Banana Man’ being performed at Dance Festival in Winnipeg

February 23, 2020

Chris Walker's "Banana Man" will be performed by Amansu Eason at the Moving Inspirations Dance Festival at the Gas Station Arts Centre in Winnipeg on Feb. 29. In addition, Walker's collaboration with Kevin Ormsby's KasheDance Company, "Facing Home: Love and Redemption," will be presented in Toronto at the Robertson Theatre March 5-6.

Novelist James Patterson to keynote commencement; John Felder will be alumni speaker

February 22, 2020

James Patterson, the world's top-selling author of the past 20 years, will give the charge to graduates as keynote speaker for spring commencement at UW-Madison. Joining him on stage will be this year's alumni speaker, John Felder, a retired labor union administrator and one of the primary organizers of the Black Student Strike of 1969 at UW-Madison.

UW-Madison’s Burt to be inducted into Martin Luther King Jr. Collegium of Scholars

February 21, 2020

Brian Burt’s scholarship in the area of diversity, equity, and inclusion is in part an extension of the important efforts King led as a pioneer and advocate in this domain, inspiring generations of people. "I am extremely humbled by this recognition,” says the assistant professor with the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis.

School of Education’s AERA Alumni Reception April 19 in San Francisco

February 19, 2020

The School of Education will be hosting its annual Alumni Reception during the 2020 American Educational Research Association (AERA) Annual Meeting in San Francisco. This reception will be held on Sunday, April 19 from 7 to 9 p.m. at the W Hotel San Francisco, located at 181 3rd St.

Nominate a colleague for the School of Education’s Distinguished Achievement Awards

February 19, 2020

The School of Education's outstanding national reputation is due, in large part, to the talent and dedication of its outstanding faculty and staff. To recognize high achievers throughout its community, the Office of Communications and Advancement is now accepting nominations for the 2020 School of Education Faculty & Staff Distinguished Achievement Awards. All nominations are due by Friday, March 13 at 5 p.m.

Meet with human resources staff to learn about Title and Total Compensation project

February 17, 2020

The Title and Total Compensation (TTC) project is moving into an important new phase — one in which supervisors and employees will be meeting to discuss new titles and standard job descriptions. To provide support through this step in the project, School of Education human resources staff are providing a number of drop-in times and locations to help answer any questions you might have.

CCBC honors ‘Johnny’s Pheasant’ with 2020 Zolotow Award

February 14, 2020

“Johnny’s Pheasant,” written by Cheryl Minnema and Illustrated by Julie Flett, is the winner of the 23rd annual Charlotte Zolotow Award for outstanding writing in a picture book. The book was edited by Erik Anderson and published in 2019 by the University of Minnesota Press. The award is given by the Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC), a library of UW–Madison's School of Education.