Five from School of Education are named Morgridge Fellows

Five individuals with ties to the UW–Madison School of Education have been named Morgridge Fellows. They are:

  • SoE Morgridge Fellows
    The School of Education’s Morgridge Fellows (from upper left): Contreras, Mayer-Jochimsen, Santiago, Skaletski, and Wardrip

    Moisés Gabriel Contreras, PhD student, Educational Policy Studies

  • Morgan Mayer-Jochimsen, PhD student, Educational Policy Studies
  • Rachel Santiago, postdoctoral research associate, Wisconsin Center for Education Research (WCER)
  • Emily Skaletski, PhD student, Department of Kinesiology (Occupational Science track)
  • Peter Wardrip, assistant professor of STEAM education, Curriculum and Instruction

The five are among 12 fellows who were selected through a juried process, and will participate in a year-long learning community designed to further institutionalize and support community-engaged scholarship.

Community-engaged scholarship is defined as: teaching, research, and scholarly activities that are performed in equitable, mutually beneficial collaboration with communities to fulfill campus and community objectives. The program is led by Morgridge Center academic staff and guest speakers offering campus and community perspectives.

The upcoming year will include sessions focused on developing and sustaining mutually beneficial community-university partnerships for community-based learning courses and research. In addition to receiving support for their classrooms, research, and other community-engaged projects, fellows will have the opportunity to build a unique interdisciplinary team of mentors and peers from the UW community.

The Morgridge Center for Public Service is administratively housed in the School of Education.

Learn about all of the faculty and campus members selected for the fourth cohort of Morgridge Fellows.