School of Education recognizes 2022 faculty and staff award winners

Each spring, the School of Education recognizes some of its most outstanding individuals with Faculty and Staff Distinguished Achievement Awards. On Thursday, April 14, this year’s award winners were honored during a reception and short ceremony in the Education Building’s Wisconsin Idea Room.

“Today we recognize an extraordinary group of people,” said School of Education Dean Diana Hess at the start of the ceremony. “These awards are special for a couple of reasons. One is that we are giving awards to faculty, staff, and students, and it is faculty, staff, and students that make the School of Education so great.”

“The second thing,” she added, “is that all of these awards came about because colleagues nominated the people winning the awards … and they’ve taken the time to write, often very extensive, letters of nomination, and I really think that makes these awards quite special.”

Photo of 2022 Faculty and Staff Distinguished Achievement Award winners
The 2022 winners of the School of Education’s Faculty and Staff Distinguished Achievement Awards pose for a photo with Dean Diana Hess. Pictured in the back row are (from left): Lesley Bartlett, Luis Columna, Tim O’Neill, Danielle Maillette, Regan Trinastic, and Maria Widmer; the front row includes: Jenna Harb, Claire Carlson, Hess, Sadhana Puntambekar, and Stephanie Budge. (Photo: Sarah Maughan)

The 2022 award winners are:

Ann Wallace Academic Staff Distinguished Achievement Awards

Danielle Maillette, Wisconsin Center for Education Research
Tim O’Neill, Art
Maria Widmer, MERIT

University Staff Distinguished Achievement Award

Claire Carlson, Communications and Advancement

Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award

Lesley Bartlett, Educational Policy Studies
Sadhana Puntambekar, Educational Psychology

Student Staff Distinguished Achievement Awards

Jenna Harb, Morgridge Center
Regan Trinastic, Educational Psychology

Award for Community-Engaged Scholarship

Luis Columna, Kinesiology

Excellence in Diversity Award

Stephanie Budge, Counseling Psychology

Learn more about all of this year’s award winners.

This year’s event also included recognition of the inaugural recipients of the School of Education’s Staff Innovation Awards. Supported by Impact 2030, these awards seek to provide staff members with funds to develop exciting and innovative new initiatives that will have a positive impact on the School community.

Three School of Education staff teams were recognized at the awards reception:

The first team includes Kaycee Rogers, Mark Olson, Tom Owenby, Joey Lubasi, Dawn Lemirand-Poepping, and Jennifer Murphy from the secondary education teacher preparation program in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. They were recognized for their initiative, “Assessing Teacher Candidate Development through Socially Just Community Engagement,” which will focus on learning more about mediating and assessing teacher candidates’ learning around socially just teacher preparation through community engagement. They aim to strengthen their community partnerships, support learning opportunities, and coordinate an internal team-based learning symposium where team members will share what they’ve learned and identify next steps.

Photo of Heather Good
Heather Good (Dance Department) is a member of one of three staff teams that are recipients of the School of Education’s inaugural Staff Innovation Award grants. (Photo: Sarah Maughan)

The second team includes Heather Good and Jennifer Krug, who are administrators in the School of Education’s Dance and Educational Psychology departments, respectively. Their initiative, the “Department Administrators Toolbox,” will develop a web-based toolbox of resources that will support staff from across the 10 academic departments to do their jobs more effectively, efficiently, and joyfully.

And finally, the third team includes Sarah Maughan, Todd Finkelmeyer, and Felipe Gacharná from the Office of Communications and Advancement. This team’s work, titled “Graduates Impacting Their Communities: A Documentary Series,” will involve creating a video series featuring School of Education alumni outside of Dane County to spotlight the School’s graduates and the impact they are having on their communities.

Pin It on Pinterest